Moving Walls is now available for pre-order! Available on Amazon Canada, Amazon USA, and Amazon UK. Also available as a digital download on !

Vancouver Album Demos (2008)


To get this album, please see the Vancouver album page.

Album Information

"Vancouver" was recorded on January 6th, 2009 to early March the same year. The record is set for an October 6th, 2009 release. It was initially slated to be an EP but Matthew decided that he had written enough material for an entire album.

This upcoming album would have been Matthew Good's first independent release since that of Last of the Ghetto Astronauts but after being recently re-signed, this will be Matthew's thirteenth release through Universal Music.

The majority of the album is based on Matthew Good's personal experiences over the last 18 years living in downtown Vancouver. In perspective, this album will be quite different compared to Hospital Music.

During the 2007 and 2008 period, Matthew Good posted demos from the album on his official blog.


The album was recorded at Warehouse Studios in Vancouver, British Columbia. Stuart Cameron (guitarist) and Blake Manning (drummer) resumed their roles as members of Matthew Good's band. Pete Yorn also makes an appearance on this album.

Engineer Zachary Blackstone is also making a return.

The drums were provided by Taye Drums and the guitars by Taylor Guitars.


  1. 1. Last Parade (5:54)
  2. 2. The Boy Who Could Explode (7:14)
  3. 3. Great Whales Of The Sea (3:30)
  4. 4. Us Remains Impossible (5:08)
  5. 5. On Nights Like Tonight (4:13)
  6. 6. Volcanoes (5:09)
  7. 7. A Silent Army In The Trees (5:47)
  8. 8. Fought To Fight It (4:26)
  9. 9. The Vancouver National Anthem (7:05)
  10. 10. Empty's Theme Park (9:07)


Life In Spite Of Itself (3:28) was initially demoed but did not appear on the album.


September 10th, 2009 - A video for Great Whales of the Sea is set to be made by director Scott Cudmore.

August 14th, 2009 - Last Parade is the first single off of the album. Life In Spite of Itself appears to have been dropped from the album.

August 10th, 2009 - Cover art is believed to be posted on Twitter.

June 28th, 2009 - The final version of Vancouver National Anthem, with backing vocals by Pete Yorn, is previewed on Matthew's blog.

June 2nd, 2009 - Great Whales Of The Sea is previewed again on Matthew's blog.

April 16th, 2009 - Silent Army in the Trees is previewed on Good's blog.

April 2nd, 2009 - Album set to be released October 2009.

February 17th, 2009 - Album originally announced for release near the end of Summer or early September of 2009.

January 31st, 2009 - Recording for the album is completed.

January 29th, 2009 - Pete Yorn arrives to help record backing vocals. Specifically, Vancouver National Anthem.

January 19th, 2009 - Recording extended by one week.

January 5th, 2009 - Album is set to be recorded at Warehouse Studios.

December 22nd, 2008 - The use of strings has been confirmed!

November 16th, 2008 - Matthew plans to use a string quartet while recording.

November 12th, 2008 - Recording date pushed back to January from December 2008.

October 24th, 2008 - A track entitled Great Whales Of The Sea is uploaded on Matthew's blog. Like some of his previous works, it was a spot of the moment track and likely written such.

September 27th, 2008 - The final demo version of Last Parade is posted on Matthew's blog.

September 12th, 2008 - Life In Spite Of Itself is posted up on Matthew Good's blog. It may end up being the 10th song on the upcoming album, Vancouver.

August 18th, 2008 - Portrait Of Artist In Jungle is re-recorded and renamed to Last Parade. The song is likely to be the opening track for Vancouver.

August 5th, 2008 - Portrait Of Artist In Jungle is again previewed on the mBlog as well as being retuned with additional lyrics. The song is to be the last one on Vancouver.

July 25th, 2008 - Matthew uploads a new, longer, version of Portrait Of Artist In Jungle. It is nearly four minutes long and has added lyrics.

July 23rd, 2008 - Matthew uploads another demo entitled Portrait Of Artist In Jungle. It mainly features a piano and synthisized violin. The track count of "Vancouver" is at a preliminary 9 songs.

July 20th, 2008 - The new name for the album is announced to be "Vancouver." There are eight songs ready to be recorded at a runtime of 48 minutes.

July 5th, 2008 - Matthew states that he is nearing completion of the album and will record after August.

March 20th, 2008 - Two demos are posted on the blog. They are On Nights Like Tonight and Us Remains Impossible.

March 3rd, 2008 - Empty's Themepark is previewed on the blog.

February 14th, 2008 - Vancouver National Anthem was briefly released on the official blog.

February 5th, 2008 - A song called Bad Pennies shows up on Matthew's MySpace as a joke. It is not a new demo nor will it ever be released

January 30th, 2008 - A new demo, Volcanoes, is previewed on Matthew's official blog.

January 26th, 2008 - Fought to Fight It is briefly posted on the mBlog.

January 3rd, 2008 - The EP is scrapped as Matthew Good now plans to release a full length album.

December 25th, 2007 - A new demo entitled The Boy Who Could Explode was posted on Matthew's page. The lyrics for this song were improvised while recording.

November 26th, 2007 - Matthew briefly posted an instrumental demo on his MySpace page. The track featured a piano track similar to that of Dusk, Avalanche era guitar riffs, and a percussion background.

Around October 31st, 2007 - Matthew Good announces that he will be releasing an EP. It looks like it will be released mainly through the web though it may be available on CD. It is believed that the EP would feature some b-sides and demos like done in the past with Lo-Fi B-Sides and Loser Anthems. If I was a Tidal Wave and Keira Anne were mentioned but will likely not appear in the EP.

September 2007 - Matthew Good premieres a new song, Silent Army in the Trees during his acoustic tour.


  • Last Parade was the first single off of the album.
  • Last Parade was originally named Portrait Of Artist In Jungle.
  • Portrait Of Artist In Jungle was named after an illustration Matthew Good made. The song was recorded in the middle of the night during a bout of inspiration. Matthew recorded five demos for this song.
  • This album was recorded on sound stage two at Warehouse Studios.
  • Pete Yorn flew in from California to help with backing vocals.