***WARNING*** I'm not that technically savy. I just want a new computer. ;)

OK, so my current PC laptop is on the blink. In the near future, I am going to need a new laptop and for my next computer, I am going to be looking into getting a Mac, preferably one of the laptop models.

The biggest things I would be using it for is for word processing (blog/journal entries), Internet browsing, photo storage and iTunes. If I can fit a game like the Sims on it, bonus.

Personally, I really like the idea of the Air simply for the portablity (I can take it with me to work and spend my lunches writing blogs and the what not), but after watching the explination on the Apple website, I don't get how I would be able to watch DVDs without being close to a second computer with an optical drive. (Being naive, I'm assuming if my computer picks up wireless internet connection...I could be wrong.)

I also see on the website that there's an option to finance the purchase. Has anyone tried this? I'm going to need to take advantage of this if I actually go ahead with a purchase because I just don't have $2000 upfront for anything.

Does anyone have any advice at all?

Guest Prosis

Alright, first off, be aware that Macs and PCs are two very different worlds. A Mac will do pretty much everything for you so it's very easy to use especially if you're not into tweaking, it's perfect. But when it comes to interface, you will have to learn a new one. It's not difficult at all, it's just very different than Windows (not PC's because Linux, which is the OS I use, works a lot like Macs).

Second, you will have to learn how to use new software than the ones you're used to. Again nothing difficult, but these are the kind of things you have to be ready to do. Except for Office which works pretty much the same way, bar the look, most software have equivalents on Macs.