hum-an-ole

Little Fish, Big Pond

My best friend and I have been considering moving for quite a few years now, with our sights set on Toronto or Vancouver. We both have a few years of experience in the graphic design industry and would like to continue in that field if possible. I'm also considering seeking some sort of job in the public to get to know the city and meet people, while continuing to do contract design work on the side to keep my current business running and hopefully eventually growing to a point that it can be a reasonable income.

I know there's a few of you who live in/around these areas and I'd like to hear your thoughts on the opportunities there. Any advice would be appreciated.

Cost of living is extremely high in both Toronto (I know) and Vancouver (from what I've heard).

Toronto is a great city, but it can also be a bit of a pain in the ass. I don't know if I could recommend living downtown, and in all honesty it would probably be better for you to live somewhere in the GTA so that you could get cheaper housing and likely not have much of an impact on your design opportunities.

Edit: GTA is the greater Toronto area and includes the more suburban sort of areas around downtown.

Edited by Prometheon

if i was looking to completely relocate, i'd go to montreal. from what little i've seen of the city, it's amazing here. daniel would have to tell you more about living and working, though. vous ne pas parler francais.

i would never live in toronto. the only parts i would consider would be around my boyfriend's house but theres no way i could justify a regular brick house for $800,000+.

in my spare time, i like looking up rent prices in areas i might live and from what i've seen, rent in toronto is similar to rent in ottawa.

Edited by Lauren