practicesanteria

Americans that don't vote

I am a Canadian and I think that I know way more about american politics than canadian politics. I work in the movie business and I was asking the Americans on the set if they were going to vote. One of them replied "vote for what?" and another said "I'm not a registered voter" and they are well into their 40s. Yet another person said "I'm voting for Bush. Let him finish what he started. He's only got a couple more countries to invade anyway" totally serious. I can't believe that there are still people who don't vote when the information is so readily available and in their face all the time. If you live in a country like the US which has so much impact on the rest of the world, you have to at least try and have a say in what goes on. Frustrating really.

It's ironic, really. In a country that trumpets democracy and freedom throughout the world, they can't even get off their lazy asses and vote at home. For the Venezuela elections, they had 95% voter turnout. In Brazil, it's a felony not to vote.

I wonder how many American non-voters supported the idea the invasion of Iraq in order to install democracy.

Voter apathy notwithstanding, it is your right as a human being to vote. Don't like the mainstream candidates? Give your vote to a fringe candidate. If you don't vote, then you're being irresponsible and showing utter disdain for the system that allows you the freedoms to live in peace without fear of secret police dragging you out in the middle of the night to a re-education center, or that you or anyone dear to you may not live to see another day because you think that everyone should be allowed education and health care. It's a case of laziness and ignorance, and it's fucking sad.