HoboFactory

Day After Tomorrow

I've been wanting to see this movie, ever since I saw the previews, which made it look really cool. So I rented it last last weekend. It turned out to be awful, and alot of things don't make sense. For example when the people are holed up in the library during the flood and the Russian cargo ship sails up to in front of the library. I must admit I've never navigated a superfreighter before, and my maritime experience is pretty limited; but I'm pretty sure a several-hundred-foot-long cargo ship would have some major difficulty cornering NY city streets in order to arrive at the library (especially without a crew ...which seems to have mysteriously disappeared) But ok, whatever, then the ship comes to a stop because it hits a submerged city bus. Not only am I not a ship's navigator, but I'm not a physics professor either, but I'm reasonably certain that a 5-ton bus wouldn't stop a ship that weighs thousands of tons. If that wasn't bad enough, these people holed up in the library know they lack food and supplies, yet they don't search the ship (which is loaded with enough food and medical supplies to last a ship's crew for months at sea) until the most inopportune moment to do so. Sure they had plenty of time, but they just had to make a run for the ship right before the storm made the temperature an unsurvivable low (and right before the computer generated wolves who somehow survived a massive flood and below-freezing temperature could try and chase them down).

Plus throw in some really bad and cliched dialog, and cheesy sub-plots.

That whole thing was just powerfully lame.

I really enjoy these kinds of movies, not for the movie but i like the special effects and i absolutely love finding faults in the reality of movies. Being a physics major at university, movies like this and "the core" give me a delightful time pointing out what is wrong with that, why that cant happen etc.