ktopar

Matthew Good's Style Through The Years

Hey, I'm a student at Berklee college of music in Boston and I'm doing a modern music paper for one of my classes about MG and his music.

Does anyone else agree that it seems since early demos and LastGhetto that his musical style got more and more etherial/fluid/enigmatic and then with Avalanche and WhiteLight became more rough/underproduced? (Not in a bad way though)

I've kind of been thinking in sort of a circle, him touching back on the sound that he started with

Or maybe I'm wrong and dumb. let me know

yea, WhiteLight was in a way a leap from the sounds of Avalance. When posting I was listening to HouseOfSmokeMirrors which is more in the vein of WhiteLight (to me). But WL has definatly a much more textural and raw sound then Avalanche; forgive me for my audacity ;)

Yeah, the point of Avalanche was to make the ultimate indie recording, but with the budget and jazz that major labels can provide.

White Light was to strip it down and Rock!

Well, after Avalanche, how much more studio work could be done on an album like that. It was pretty well polished. I guess you could say that Avalanche was his studio pinnacle, in a manner of speaking. After being able to accomplish that, I'd think he's just going to do the more stripped-down affairs.

Other than that, there is a definite change in the styles of the albums. LOTGA and earlier demos all have that folksy vibe to them; Underdogs had a grungier sound to it, kind of like the Pixies and earlier Radiohead. BM and AoB are both pretty intense, as well as darker and deeper than the last few releases. Avalanche is the mellowing out album, and WLR&RR is just rocking out. (Heh, "just.")