ecnarf

Have You Ever Considered A Career In The Military?

dun dun dun  

15 members have voted

1. 1. dun dun dun

• Yes - I am Canadian
    • No - I am Canadian
    • Yes - I am not Canadian (elaborate)
    • No - I am not Canadian (elaborate)

Basically I'm doing this as a little experiment. I play in the military band for a reserve regiment in town and all the military people there have all but handcuffed me and dragged me out to basic training in their quest to get me to join the military.

I have to say that before I started playing in that band, I had never given any thought to a career in the military. It had never really crossed my mind. But having looked at it, I am seriously considering becoming a military pharmacist, even if it's just to join the ROTP and get through university without debt. I don't see why not - the Canadian military pays rather well, I'll still be a pharmacist (working on a military base), and chances are I'll be doing humanitarian/relief work along the way.

You'll notice that in recent weeks, the armed forces have ratcheted up their ad campaigns, especially during world cup soccer matches. I've found that overall, careers in the military aren't considered so unusual in the U.S., but due to the small size and lack of funding, and the fact that the CF are constantly the butt-end of jokes, you don't find very many people considering careers in the army in Canada. So answer the poll and give a written answer if you please.

I probably did at some point in my very early age but i never took any inklings to do so very seriously. I have always not been a fan of the regimentation, the indoctrination ( as i see it, obviously not everyone will), and is personally not for me.

For the record, I wouldn't want to be in the military as a lifelong thing. A guy who was serving in Afghanistan 2 years ago told me to never date someone in the armed forces. He has a wife and two kids and was over there for six months. Harsh.