Outtahere

Hey drummers

So I'm trying to set up my drum kit to fit with Pat's on Avalanche. It's the best drum sounds I've heard. But I'm not a pro so I don't know how drum tuning works other than fiddling with the screws until you get a sound you like. The thing is I've never had a sound like that. It's either to reverb-y or echo-y or, if I tighten them too much it's too high.

Yeah "reverb-y" and "echo-y"! They're technical terms alright! :P

Anyhow what's the trick? The best I've done (still not enough) is put tape on them to mute them out a bit.

Thanks!

I'm actually a bassist but not surprisingly I'm hugely into

drums and drumming as well ( it's all about the rhythm section ;)

I totally agree about the drums on Avalanche- Pledge of Allegiance is just so majestic. Whenever I get a new stereo or subs or whatever, I always test it out with that. WWWHR and Near Fantastica are amazing on that album too.

It may be really difficult to reproduce Pat's sound without the expensive studio compressors and whatever analog techniques they may have utilized like miking arrangements/room mikes etc. They may have used treatments like reverb and delay as well. I can hear a lot of reverb on his drums and especially the cymbals

Although they did sound great live at the time when I saw them 2003 or so at Kool Haus in Toronto- they opened up with Pledge and blew my mind. So there is a way to approximate the studio sound live but they would also mike the drums live and be able to run them through effects too.

I have spent a lot of time with pedals trying to emulate bass tones for covers I play and it is very hard when you consider that sound engineers can double parts, add in keyboard parts and different cab simulations and things when the original signal was just the bass clean straight into the board.

Anyway, point is you can try the taping method but you'll

probably have to be satisfied with coming reasonably

close to your desired tone with an acoustic set unmiked.