bobbyshane

Linux Anyone?

Any linux users out there? I've been a part time linux user for years now however I'm running Ubuntu right now and so far haven't logged back into windows in a week now... the only reason I havent formatted my windows partition is because I'm a musician who uses my computer to record my music and lets face it... linux still has an unfortunate lack of audio hardware compatability and windows quality multitrack,sequencing, and mastering software... I personally use Nuendo in windows so it will be awhile before anyone makes an equal competitor on the linux market... as far as I can tell... anyhow this is a ramble and most likely boring to all..

I have used Linux (Red Hat 3.something, Fedora Core 2 and 3 as well as some distro of SUSE during the course of my studies and co-op work term. They have some features I enjoy, but overall I remain a Windows user. The time and effort involved in some installations turn me off of Linux as I am an impatient gamer.

I have an Ubuntu distro on the desk behind me, I just haven't tried it yet.

yeah the last time i tried to recompile a kernal was the last time... at least for awhile... i think i popped something important in my cerebral cortex that day.. heh... and yes if it werent for all of the promotion windows wouldnt have near the software and compatability it does and would shine through for what it truly is... a shiny, gleaming piece of shit...

Thats just it though. If Linux had all the features/ease of use/compatibility that Windows does, it would be the better OS. As it stands, it doesn't and in a world where 90% of computer users know the bare minimum ease of use counts for much more. Combine the 2 and you'd have the perfect OS.