AndrewfromBC

Matt's Work Plagiarised?

Ok everyone, here's the deal, I've been listening to Matt's music religiously since 1997, I own pretty much everything he's ever released with the exception of a few rare items, and I can pretty much sing along to any song on any album. The truth is though that you don't need to be an expert to recognize when one of MGB's biggest singles has been blatantly ripped off by another band, and then "rereleased" as a single no less.

So, in late 2005 my ex-girlfriend from Belgium was living here in BC, and one night I just happened to be listening to her iPod on random when the all too familiar intro to "Indestructible" started playing through the earphones. I was elated, I mean the fact that Matt's music had made it all the way to Belgium and that my then girlfriend happened to like his music too, it was perfect. But after a few bars the elation faded and was replaced with confusion, the voice was not Matt's, and the lyrics were not those of "Indestructible." Absolutely gob smacked, I lit up the ipod screen and discovered to my horror that the song was not "Indestructible," but was in fact the song "Cry" by Simple Minds, you know, like the guys who did "Don't You Forget About Me" from "The Breakfast Club."

At that point I didn't know what to think, but the thought did cross my mind that perhaps Matt had plagiarised these 80's one hit wonders. I of course quickly ruled that out as a possibility, afterall anyone knows that when it comes to lame old washed-up bands there are legions of middle aged women ready to defend their every work at the drop of a hat, so surely there was no way Matt could have possibly scored a hit single, even just in Canada, without someone noticing were it plagiarism.