mikebutt

Illicit Substances

I just wanted to know, how wide is the usage of drugs throughout Canada? I started smoking pot about 2 years ago and back then it was a relatively small proportion of people that used it maybe 25% of people that I knew. Now EVERYONE does it. Literally I would say about 90% of people that I know do it at least once every couple of weeks or so. Now I'm starting to notice coke and ecstasy are getting pretty popular. Is anyone else noticing a dramatic upsurge in drug use over the last couple of years? Is this just a Newfoundland thing? Maybe its just my friends that are fucked up.

I don't think its just because I'me getting older either. I graduated from high school three years ago, but I'm told that the high school students are the worst chronics of them all.

Mike, i'd say that either 90% of your friends are losers, or that NFLD has gone to shit. Not that i have a problem with marijuana, but whoa! 90%? i think your friends may have a lack of other friends.

But i do know what you mean. it seems that a whole lot of people are doing ecstasy now. A whole lot. And i have heard about coke around town. Meth is growing, and dilladauds (sp?) seems to be dropping...

if you are looking at a specific group of people and they are doing harder drugs now then before, it makes sense because it takes more to get high each time. people are also loosening up about drugs. its not that big a deal anymore. people do drugs now and their parents know and its no big deal. a lot of peoples parents do it (they grew up in the time of love) and it's hard for them to say not to when they do. i don't really have a problem with a little drug use, i don't have any plans to do drugs and as long as one uses them respondsibly, it's no problem. i think that people are using them wrong, though, and education needs to be available. a different kind of education though because what is available now is crap and no one wants to hear it.